My Mind Is Alive With Memories I’ve Never Seen

My mind is alive with memories I’ve never seen

I’ve lived on the streets of Liverpool

Lived in the bush country of Chekov’s Canterbury

Scoured the deserts of Lawrence’s Arabia

Worn the red green orange and black of Ghana

And each one brings a tear

When I remember them.

My mind is alive with memories I’ve never seen

Like a black hole

Or the creation of life

Or the moment of conception

Or my first child’s birth.

I’ve walked the moors

Yet never picked a flower there,

I’ve visited abbeys

Where the monks chant at vespers,

But never worshipped there.

I’ve visited the planets

Through eyes of scifi

Yet never met an alien lifeforce.

I’ve live many other memories

Too numerous to mention

But the one true one

I know I’ll never see or live

Is my own death.

 

Copyright 2012

2 responses to “My Mind Is Alive With Memories I’ve Never Seen

Leave a Reply

