Window on the world – A small slice of life

I remember when snowflakes, pointed and white, fell all the time, or so it seemed. Every day there was a blizzard of some duration and even the shortest one was so very welcome. I was at my happiest when I couldn’t see my hand in front of my face.

I looked out of my small window on the world – – all the time. I hardly ever slept… then. There was too much to see, too much newness piquing a young and innocent curiosity. Orange and pink sunrises and bluebird blue skies chilled by the stealthy entrance of a silvery moon kept my imagination and hopes high.

It didn’t take me long to fall in love with life and Robin. He was always there, right from the first day my own memories begin. He was a giant towering way above me.  I can still see his smile, lined with teeth perfectly straight and glaringly white. I swear they were the brightest stars stolen from an unsuspecting sky, lying there asleep in the darkness.

Robin brought the snow. How we played together! He always tried to pile the snow up into dozens of drifts along the edge of our world.  I laughed at his shaking his hands and moving all around, trying to command the snow to do what he wanted. But the snow rarely listened.

Playing with the snow kept Robin occupied and around for a long time. We laughed together until we both fell down and the world turned topsy-turvy.

Robin was very caring. He turned my world right side up over and over again.  He always waited until the snow stopped falling and I was safe.

 

Copyright 1987

Leave a Reply

