This Morning I Shadow Danced Across Your Face

This morning, I shadow danced

Across your face,

Tinkerbell, me,

Grown up Pan you.

My silhouette tall and thin,

Tantalizing and teasing,

While you lay sleeping,

Your nose buried in feathered clouds,

Filled with the scent of me.

 

I watched my transformation into a

Fantastical being,

An integral part,

You, holding it all together,

Me, dancing, dancing.

I played, beckoning to you,

My beloved, to join me,

But you belong to another realm,

Its potion more powerful than mine,

And anyway, time has other plans.

So, I danced all alone, by myself.

 

This morning, I shadow danced

Across your face,

Virile, sensitive you,

Dreamer, naïve me.

And, I thought I saw you stir,

And I thought I heard you murmur

You loved me.

 

For Hank, who has passed on

3 responses to “This Morning I Shadow Danced Across Your Face

Leave a Reply

